Amazing Grace

6439650519_d832067830_nIt was Monday morning June 29, 2015, when I heard the crushing words; my father had just passed away in his sleep. This news came as a shock, since I had seen him the day before and under the circumstances, he appeared to be doing fine. My husband and I rushed to the other side of town to be with my mom and other family members. A few days later during the funeral service, the priest asked: What’s the difference between a good man and a great man? He said that a good man does good things, but a great man gets other people to do good and great things.

There are so many wonderful things to be said about my Dad, but his true legacy was inspiring others to be great. Several decades ago, his ambitious vision compelled him to pursue a better life. He was a fearless pioneer when he immigrated to the United States from the country of Jordan over 60 years ago. Brilliant and talented, he was awarded a scholarship through Greenville College in Illinois for his outstanding academic performance. He graduated in 1955 with a BS in Science and became one of the first medical technologists in the USA at that time. My Dad was not only educated and highly intellectual, he was a mad genius. (A story about his life is another book in the making!) Through his unparalleled vision and sheer determination, he conquered numerous obstacles to create this better life—of living the American Dream. Together with my Mom, they integrated themselves into society as best as possible while raising five children as first generation Americans. Overseas in Jordan, my Dad had become a legendary icon who symbolized the virtues of a good education, hard work, new opportunities and perseverance.

It wasn’t long before my Dad was generously helping others to make a new beginning in the United States. For years, he continually sponsored people in their pursuit for a better quality of life. I can certainly attest to this because growing up, I remember our house being filled with suitcases—someone or entire families were always coming or going. As a kid, I was especially in awe when I saw what came out of those suitcases! Large trays of exotic desserts such as baklava or containers of halawa, bags of fresh zatar, aromatic spices, Jordan almonds and candy coated chickpeas were sprawled all over the place. The authentic scents that permeated our house was not something I could ever forget.

My Dad’s generosity touched and blessed numerous lives which in turn, had a spiral effect. Those same people he helped, empowered others to become successful lawyers, doctors, engineers, business leaders and engaged community members contributing greatly to the fabric of America. As his daughter, he certainly had a very strong impact on me. His mark upon my life inspired me to become an author for I learned that every experience we have in this life, both good and bad, serve a purpose. I hope that anyone who reads this book; The Proactive Health Solution, will keep his legacy alive, by not just becoming a good person, but a great person. Like my Dad, I believe when you improve your own quality of life and give to others freely from your heart, it will come back to you in abundance. Thanks again Dad for being a wise visionary and great man, indeed. You’re in a much better place, but I know the power of your spirit will continue to live.

My Dad grew closer to Jesus Christ in his last few years. In honor of his life, I wanted to share the following lyrics of an English poet and clergyman, John Newton:

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound, That saved a wretch like me…. I once was lost but now am found, Was blind, but now, I see. T’was Grace that taught… my heart to fear. And Grace, my fears relieved. How precious did that Grace appear… the hour I first believed.

Through many dangers, toils and snares… we have already come. T’was Grace that brought us safe thus far… and Grace will lead us home. The Lord has promised good to me… His word my hope secures. He will my shield and portion be… as long as life endures.

When we’ve been here ten thousand years… bright shining as the sun. We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise… then when we’ve first begun. Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound, That saved a wretch like me…. I once was lost but now am found, Was blind, but now, I see.

http://bookstore.authorhouse.com/Products/SKU-000412995/The-Proactive-Health-Solution.aspx

 

3 thoughts on “Amazing Grace

  1. Such an inspiring man your Dad Nadia! Someone I would have loved to sit with and have long conversations with…I enjoyed reading this writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

