Are you living victoriously?

At some point in your life, you will probably hear a version of this poem originally written by Mary Stevenson.

FOOTPRINTS IN THE SAND

footprints-man-beach-morningOne night I dreamed I was walking along the beach with the Lord. Many scenes from my life flashed across the sky. In each scene I noticed footprints in the sand. Sometimes there were two sets of footprints. Other times there were one set of footprints. This bothered me because I noticed that during the low periods of my life, when I was suffering from anguish, sorrow, or defeat, I could see only one set of footprints. So I said to the Lord, “You promised me, Lord, that if I followed you, you would walk with me always. But I noticed that during the most trying periods of my life there have only been one set of prints in the sand. Why, when I have needed you most, you have not been there for me?” The Lord replied, “The times when you have seen only one set of footprints is when I carried you.” 

Each of us will face obstacles and experience low points in our life journey. Nobody is immune. Living day-to-day in a sinful world can take a toll on our hearts and minds. We turn on the news and hear about terrorists executing innocent people. Senseless acts of evil have become prevalent. Corruption is everywhere, we don’t need to look far to find injustice or suffering. As a result, many of us experience sorrow and grief. This is a normal expression of being human. Ironically, part of being empowered to take care of ourselves is recognizing our weakness. When we are faced with our own limited capacity, we can turn to our higher source of power to help us overcome.

By gratefully accepting Jesus, this grants us with an inherent victory. He helps us develop the resilient mental and spiritual powers that we need to rise above our agony. Remember this journey toward optimal health isn’t limited to our bodily form, it involves elevating all dimensions of our well-being—the mental, physical and spiritual. When the peace of Christ reigns in our heart, all the trials and tribulations of this world should not make us depressed. Instead, it should drive us to bring this same hope and healing to the needs of humanity. 1 John 4:4 states, “You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.” Just like the poem above, whenever we hit those low points in life, there’s someone who will carry us—the Lord Jesus Christ.

Revelation 3:21-22 “To him who overcomes, I will give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I overcame and sat down with my Father on his throne. He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.”

One thought on “Are you living victoriously?

  1. I have family members that really need to let the Lord in. I can see how a belief in him and a relationship with him will ease their suffering. They have no clue of this however. Their beliefs are different than mine. I’m not sure even what they believe. I do not know how I can help them without offending them and their beliefs? Can you help?

    Like

Leave a Reply

